An Illinois Marriage License is just a document that says you have permission to marry; it is not proof that you are already in a marriage. The document which will state that you are married is a Marriage Certificate. A Marriage License in Illinois is valid for only 60 days. It becomes valid after 1 day that you get it, but you can take it on the same day.
If you are living in Illinois and want to marry, you must meet the below-mentioned requirements:
A Marriage License is one important step for you to do before the wedding ceremony and for that, there is nothing difficult. You have to do only two steps for that. Here they are:
In Illinois getting a Marriage License is a very quick process. You do not need to go, fill an application for that, then wait for some days in order to get your Marriage License. Getting a Marriage License in Illinois is done immediately. You go to the county clerk, do all the required parts and leave it with a Marriage License.
In order to obtain a Marriage License in Illinois, you need to provide some documents։
You don’t have to take a blood test to get a Marriage License in Illinois.
People who want to marry must fill out the following information in the application:
You need to pay for getting your Marriage License in Illinois։
You can pay the fees by check, cash, and money order.
If you are married and want to change your name, you have to follow these steps:
If you are an out-of-state couple and want to marry in Illinois, you can surely do it, unless you live there or want to continue living there. Not all states accept same-sex marriages and if you are from that state your marriage cannot take place. The clerk will ask you to sign a document, which will say that your state accepts same-sex marriages and will not announce it void.
There are states that allow people to have proxy marriages in the USA, but you cannot have proxy marriages in Illinois, as the law doesn’t allow it. Both of you must be present both in the process of license application and the wedding ceremony.
Cousin marriage differs from state to state. In Illinois, the law allows to marry only first cousins if your first cousin is older than the age of 50 and you cannot have children together.